Saturday, September 19, 2009

Nominations Are Now Open for the IATC Thalia Prize 2010

In 2006, the IATC Thalia Prize went to Eric Bentley, the world-renowned U.S. playwright, singer and critic who wrote such plays as Lord Alfred's Lover and such path-finding books as The Playwright as Thinker, Bentley on Brecht and The Life of the Drama.

Two years later, in 2008, the prestigious Thalia Prize went to Jean-Pierre Sarrazac, the French playwright, director and critic who was the first to identify the influential notion of the post-dramatic theatre.

It is now time to choose the next winner from anywhere in the world.  Who would you like to nominate for the third IATC Thalia Prize? The Executive Committee of the International Association of Theatre Critics has issued an open call for nomination from each IATC national section.

The deadline is for nominations is December 1, 2009.  The winner who will take home the IATC Thalia Prize (it takes the form of a cane, see photo below) will be chosen on January 30, 2010.

Here are the official rules and instructions:

The Thalia Prize is normally awarded by the International Association of Theatre Critics at each of its biennial congresses to a scholar, theatre critic or theatre practitioner whose writings have significantly influenced critical thinking about the art of theatre.  Previous winners are Eric Bentley (US, 2006) and Jean-Pierre Sarrazac (France, 2008).

The prize includes a specially designed theatrical memento contributed by the Romanian national Section and the Craiova Shakespeare Foundation, and full expenses to attend the award ceremonies wherever they take place. Previous awards have been presented at IATC Congresses in Seoul, Korea and Sofia, Bulgaria.

Each IATC Section is encouraged to nominate Thalia candidates from anywhere in the world.
The ultimate winner will normally be well-known in at least one geographical or linguistic region of the world and at least modestly known in a second region. To ensure this, each nominating national IATC Section is encouraged to obtain a seconder from another geographical or linguistic region. Candidates with seconders will be given primary consideration.

Each national IATC Section may nominate two candidates but if a Section chooses to submit a second nomination, that person must come from another country. A Section may not second more than two candidates. 

All nominations will be vetted by the IATC Executive Committee to ensure these rules have been met. The Excom will vote on a winner at a meeting or by e-mail at least three months prior to the actual presentation of the award. The Executive Committee may not add candidates to the list but may decline to give the award in any given year for lack of suitable nominees. The Excom’s decision shall be final and not subject to further discussion.

To submit a nominee, a national Section must send a letter or an e-mail to the IATC President, copied to the IATC Secretary General, that includes a justification for each nomination of up to 300 words. This must include the major work or works of the writer along with brief biographical details and a statement of why this person is deserving of the Thalia. Verbal nominations will not be accepted.  In countries where there is more than one recognized national group, each one may submit one nominee without the agreement of the other one(s). E-mail and/or telephone contact information for the nominee must be part of the nomination letter.

Ideally, the laureate will be available to attend the award ceremonies. The IATC will cover economy air and hotel costs to ensure such participation. Should they be unable to come to the award ceremony, the nominee must be willing to send a speech of acceptance and/or a lecture which will be read publicly on that occasion. Excom will handle these details in association with the Section in the winner’s home country.

Sections may nominate a candidate as many times as they wish as long as they follow procedures for each new nominating period. A list of previous winners (and nominees, from 2010 on) will be circulated with the call for new candidates.

The deadline for receipt of nominees for the 2010 award (to be presented at the 2010 IATC Congress) is December 1st, 2009. A final decision will be made by the Excom by 30 January 2010.

In the South Korean capital of Seoul, ATCA delegates Kerri Allen, Carol Douglass, Glenn Loney, Thalia Prize winner Eric Bentley, Randy Gener and Gwen Orel.

No comments:

Post a Comment